Linux Mint on a Toshiba Netbook

This is my “new” dedicated Linux machine:

nb505

…a Toshiba NB505 netbook.

Although I hadn’t used the netbook in a while, I needed to try a few things on it yesterday.  My first attempts were horrific.  The system was taking extremely long amounts of time to respond to mouse-clicks and keystrokes.

I went through the process of resetting it back to factory Windows 7 settings from the restore partition ( as the unit does not have a CD/DVD drive).  Then, I tried to configure the Personal Firewall, but the build-in Anti-Virus program … one I particularly loathe … was doing that on my behalf.  I removed the AV program.

I started removing all of the pre-installed crapware.  I looked at the list of running processes and found a dozen or more that were all from a Toshiba directory.  I didn’t know which ones were critical to the OS and which ones were “fluff”.

I probably could have pared the machine down further, but I took a different route.  Today, I build a bootable USB with the live distro for Linux Mint 15.

I changed the boot order in the BIOS and let the USB boot. With the live Mint distro running in front of me, I selected the “install” option. I had the option of co-installing it with the existing Windows. Nope. I had it install so that Mint is now the dedicated OS on the machine.

Here’s a screenshot:

mint

The machine is pretty responsive. I wasn’t sure it would handle a newer version of Mint, but it runs fine, so far. I haven’t really run much other than the terminal and a browser, though.

It looks like this is going to be a handy, portable Linux box.

About Jim Lawless

I've been programming computers for about 36 years ... 30 of that professionally. I've been a teacher, I've worked as a consultant, and have written articles here and there for publications like Dr. Dobbs Journal, The C/C++ Users Journal, Nuts and Volts, and others.
This entry was posted in Computers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Linux Mint on a Toshiba Netbook

  1. John says:

    Jim–
    About to follow the same steps with my NB505. How’s yours working with Mint?

    • Jim Lawless says:

      Y’know, I haven’t done much other than web-browsing with it. I had intended to download some development tools and such, but I just haven’t gotten ’round to it.

Leave a Reply

