Devolution

I have been working my way through some TV series on DVD this last week.  On an episode of the 1982 series Square Pegs, Devo performs.  I did a little YouTubing and found a version of my favorite Devo song, Girl U Want coupled with their performance of Gates of Steel.

This particular version is a little more up-tempo than the original recording ( which you may have heard at the beginning of the film Tank Girl. )  This performance is from the old ABC late-night sketch comedy series Fridays:

I did a little more nosing around as I was curious what the boys had been up to more recently.  I don’t think I can explain things any better than the video at Devo lead-singer Mark Mothersbaugh’s web site:

http://www.markmothersbaugh.com/

The Wired article listed on his site is also worth reading.  It also touches briefly on Mothersbaugh’s other passion; visual art.

http://www.wired.com/wired/archive/14.05/devo.html

It amazes me how much work for TV (including commercials) and movies Mark and the boys have done in the past couple of decades.  It all started with writing the theme for Pee Wee’s Playhouse. I’ve seen some of the films he’s scored and I’m very impressed with his work.

About Jim Lawless

I've been programming computers for about 36 years ... 30 of that professionally. I've been a teacher, I've worked as a consultant, and have written articles here and there for publications like Dr. Dobbs Journal, The C/C++ Users Journal, Nuts and Volts, and others.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

